I’ve Read 10 Books In One Month. Here’s What I’ve Learned

A challenge packed with glorious surprises.

Ahmad Hamzeh
4 min readOct 29, 2021
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I’ve recently embarked on a challenge of my own where I have to complete one book every 3 days for a month. And it wasn’t as I expected.

To complete this feat, I had to manage my time and give approximately 4 reading hours per day. It wasn’t easy considering I’m an engineering student and a freelancer, but I’ve made my way out safely and it turned out worth it in the end.

There were both pros and cons, but the pros outweighed the latter by a long shot. The hardest thing was choosing the right books to read because if I were to sacrifice this much time for a challenge, I should at least enjoy it.

The books were all of an average size of 80,000–90,000 words. I’ll list them all at the end below.

Without further stalling, let me enlighten you with the lesson I’ve learned after facing a monstrous amount of literature for an entire month:

Life Is More Enjoyable Once You Switch To Low-Dopamine Activities

Dopamine is like drugs. You reach for higher and more intense quantities just to feel a kick, and most of the time, you get stuck on an infinity ladder reaching for more. Something that…

--

--

Ahmad Hamzeh

Civil Engineer | SEO Copywriter / Content Creator - I Write Strategic Copy That'll Grow Your Audience.